Finalists named in 2021 Diamond Journalism Awards

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is diamond-image.jpg

The Arkansas Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists takes pride in announcing the finalists for the 2021 Diamond Journalism Awards, a regional competition that recognizes outstanding journalism by professionals and students from Arkansas and bordering states.

Winners in more than 75 categories as well as the Diamond Journalist of the Year, the Outstanding New Journalist , and the Robert McCord FOI Award will be announced at a virtual awards ceremony on June 30. More details coming soon.

This year’s contest honors work published or broadcast in 2020, drew a record 393 entries and was judged by members of the Cincinnati Pro Chapter of SPJ.

Here are the finalists listed by the publication or other outlet in which their entries appeared:

ABOUT the River Valley Magazine, Russellville, Ark.

Johnny Carrol Sain, Hannah Butler, Kenzie Sain

Arkansas Catholic

Dwain Hebda

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Little Rock

Stephen Simpson, Williams Sanders, Jeannie Roberts, Joseph Flaherty, Thomas Metthe, Stephen Swofford, Staton Breidenthal, Yutao Chen, Maggie McNeary, Carrie Hill, Justin Cunningham, Stan Denman, Brian Smith, Joe Luciano, Tony Holt, Ginny Monk, Kat Stromquist, Bill Bowden, Terry Austin, David Barham, Walter Hussman, Philip Martin, Morgan Acuff, Sarah DeClerk, Dwain Hebda, Democrat-Gazette staff

ADG River Valley and Ozark Edition, Little Rock

Tammy Keith

Arkansas Money & Politics, Little Rock

Tyler Hale, Mark Carter, Evin Demirel, Rebecca Robertson

Arkansas Nonprofit News Network, Little Rock

Dwain Hebda

The Associated Press, Little Rock

Andrew DeMillo

AY Magazine, Little Rock

Dustin Jayroe, Rebecca Robertson, Jamison Mosley, Lora Puls, Heather Baker, Ebony Blevins, Jamison Mosley, Ian Lyle, Dwain Hebda

The Batesville Guard, Arkansas

Bruce Guthrie

Baxter Regional Pulse, Arkansas

Sarah Knight

Curbside Chronicle, Oklahoma City

Mollie Bryant, Nathan Poppe, Miguel Rios, George Lang, Nazarene Harris, Jacquelyn Walsh, Sydni Nasada, Ryan Magnani, Joshua Boydston, Jayna Hadwiger, Ben Felder, Kassie McClung, Nate Ward, Katrina Ward

The Daily Citizen, Searcy, AR

Greg Geary

The Daily Record, Little Rock

Dwain Hebda

Do South Magazine

Dwain Hebda

FOX16 News, Little Rock

Kevin Kelly

Houston Business Journal, Texas

Jeff Jeffrey, Chris Mathews, Margaret Barrientos, Sara Samora, Laura Gillespie, Shafaq Patel, Giselle Greenwood

Jackson Free Press, Mississippi

Nick Judin, Kayode Crown, Donna Ladd

KATC-TV, Lafayette, La.

Andrew Clay, Staff

KOLR-TV, Springfield, Mo.

Brian Calfano, Lissa Hamblen

KPEJ-TV, Midland-Odessa, Texas

Monica Quintero


Anna Stitt, Daniel Breen, Sarah Kellogg, Alexandria Brown


Rosemond Crown, Gordon Collier, Clint Webb, Megan Vanselow, Drake Lawson, Bill Gowdy

KXAN-TV, Austin, Texas

Alex Caprariello

Leader Newspaper, Jacksonville, Ark.

Rick Kron

Louisiana College, Pineville

Elizabeth Christian

Mississippi Free Press, Jackson

Ashton Pittman, William Pittman, Christian Middleton, Donn Ladd, Aliyah Veal, Mauricio J. Quijano

Politico, Arlington, Va.

Bret Schulte

Richmond News, Missouri

Jack “Miles” Ventimiglia

Riverfront Times, St. Louis

Danny Wicentowski

Texas Observer, Austin

Amal Ahmed, Chris O’Connell, Savannah Maher

The Trucker, Little Rock

Wendy Miller, Linda Garner-Bunch, Lyndon Finney, Sam Pierce, The Trucker Editorial Staff

WVLT-TV, Knoxville

Ashley Bohle, Brittany Tarwater, Keith Smith, WVLT Staff


Louisiana State University (Reveille, LSU Tiger TV, LSU Manship News Service, KLSU-FM) Baton Rouge

Katherine Manuel, Anna Jones, Bailey Williams, Alyssa Berry, Matthew Clark, Sydney McGovern, Karli Carpenter, Kendall Duncan, Ally Kadlubar, Caleb Greene, Bailey Chauvin, Reed Darcey, Jared Brodtmann, Luke Chevalier, Marie Plunkett, Evan Leonhard, Cecile Girard, Sofia McKentry

Louisiana College, Wildcats Media, Pineville

Alena Noakes, Joel Thompson, Aaron Quartemont

Arkansas State University, Delta Digital News Service, Jonesboro

Christine Miyawa, Tristan Bennett, Krishnan Collins, Chase Gage

University of Central Arkansas, The Echo, Conway

Ronak Patel, Lauren McLemore, Morgan Jenkins, Delaney Van Wilpe, Elvira Toddy, Megan Holder

One thought on “Finalists named in 2021 Diamond Journalism Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s