#BlackLivesMatter in the Media with Shaun King

BLM flyer.indd

WHAT: #BlackLivesMatter in the Media, with Shaun King
WHEN: 5:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 30
WHERE: M.L. Harris Auditorium, Philander Smith College
900 Daisy L. Gatson Bates Dr., Little Rock
WHO: Shaun King (New York); Malik Saafir (Little Rock); Ashley Yates (St. Louis); Richard Thompson (Memphis); Shahidah Jones (Memphis); Rae Nelson (Little Rock)
GET ENGAGED: Let your comments and questions be heard by using #BLMinMedia

Join us for a keynote address and panel discussion on how the Black Lives Matter movement has been covered in national, regional and local media.

Keynote speaker Shaun King is a senior justice writer for New York Daily News and a prominent figure in the Black Lives Matter movement. King has written extensively about the movement, covering discrimination, police brutality, the prison industrial complex and social justice in the wake of violence in New York, Baltimore, Cleveland, Ferguson, Missouri, Charleston, South Carolina and other cities.

The event is free and open to the public. It is sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists Arkansas Pro Chapter and the National Park Service/Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site  in partnership with the Philander Smith College chapters of Phi Beta Sigma and Zeta Phi Beta.

Join the discussion: #BLMinMedia

LIVE STREAMING: We will live stream the event on the Arkansas SPJ Facebook Page.

Get more information and RSVP at the event page. https://www.facebook.com/events/196989484047703/

Diamond Journalism Awards: Call for Entries

Welcome to the new Diamond Journalism Awards, which seek to honor journalism excellence in Arkansas (the Diamond State) and bordering media markets in West Tennessee, East Oklahoma, South Missouri, Northwest Mississippi and North Louisiana.

Sponsored by the Arkansas Pro Chapter, Society of Professional Journalists, the Diamond Journalism Awards will recognize outstanding journalism by professionals and students regardless of format.

Eligible work must have been published or broadcast between July 1, 2015, and June 30, 2016.
Entries may be submitted any time after July 5, 2016.
Entry deadline is 11 PM CDT, Aug. 5, 2016.
Enter online via the Better BNC Media Awards platform, https://betternewspapercontest.com/

For more info on rules, go here.

For contest categories, go here.


SPJ After Deadline

SPJAnother deadline has come and gone, so let’s hang out. Society of Professional Journalist chapters across the nation will be doing it.

Connect with your fellow journalists in Little Rock and beyond in a casual, fun and no-pressure atmosphere on Tuesday, June 21, at 6 p.m. at Vino’s in the first SPJ After Deadline event. For more details, see our event page on Facebook.

We will also be celebrating diversity in SPJ and our newsrooms on June 21. Mark your calendars now and help us show the world that SPJ is all about inclusion.

Take a picture of yourself, your co-workers or other SPJ friends and share your photos with us on Twitter and Instagram using #SPJAfterDeadlineand #SPJ4All.

Arkansas SPJ Elects New Officers, Board

The Arkansas Society of Professional Journalists elected new officers and board members at its meeting Wednesday, June 8.

2016-17 officers and board
President, Chelsea Boozer, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Vice President, Jennifer Ellis, ADG
Secretary, Sarah Campbell, Arkansas Business
Treasurer, Kelly P. Kissel, The Associated Press

The board:
Sonny Albarado, ADG
Sydney Hayman, ADG*
Claudia Lauer, AP*
John Lyon, Arkansas News Bureau
Rob Moritz, University of Central Arkansas
Sarah Morris, Jonesboro Sun
Sonny Rhodes, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

NOTE: * = new to the board.

Coming Soon

Diamond Journalism Awards

After a three-year absence from the journalism contest field, the Arkansas Pro Chapter of SPJ returns this summer with the Diamond Journalism Awards.

This is a brand new contest, not just a revival, with more categories and a broader reach.

Taking its name from one of Arkansas’ identities — the Diamond State — the Diamond Journalism Awards will recognize outstanding journalism by professionals and students regardless of format, not just from Arkansas but beyond its borders.

The contest covers work published or broadcast between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016.

You’ll be able to start submitting entries July 1. Entry deadline will be July 27.

More details in a few days.

Sonny Albarado, chapter contest coordinator